Leon v. TCR

Orlando Leon (47) pulls in an interception that he took to the house against TC Roberson on Aug. 20.

BOONE — The Watauga Pioneers were well-represented in the 3A/4A Northwestern Conference All-Conference selections.

After an unbeaten conference run to yet another title, Watauga football head coach Ryan Habich was named Coach of the Year. Linebacker and tight end Orlando Leon received the Player of the Year award while defensive lineman and offensive tackle Grant Lawrence secured Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Meanwhile, Watauga won the conference championship and swept top honors in men’s cross country with Ethan Campbell winning Runner of the Year and head coach Randy McDonough being named Coach of the Year.

McDonough also won Coach of the Year honors in leading the Watauga women’s team to the conference championship, with nine Pioneers winning all-conference nods.

Watauga men’s soccer shared co-champion honors with Hibriten in the 2021 season, with Pioneer head coach Josh Honeycutt earning Coach of the Year honors and captain Matt Taubman was recognized as Co-Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Hibriten’s David Franquiz. Nine Pioneers were all-conference selections.

The 2021 Northwestern volleyball champions that advanced to the North Carolina state 4A semifinal round, Watauga dominated the all-conference list with seven gaining all-conference selections and two honorable mentions. Watauga swept the top honors with Caroline Farthing named Player of the Year, Brooke Scheffler as Offensive Player of the Year, Brelyn Sturgill as Defensive Player of the Year and head coach Kim Pryor recognized as Coach of the Year.

After dominating the conference all season, five Watauga women’s tennis players received all-conference nods, including Player of the Year Jillian Russert and her doubles . Two more Pioneers received Honorable Mention recognition, including the conference singles champion Larisa Muse.

In women’s golf, three Pioneer earned all-conference recognition.


  • Orlando Leon
  • Isaiah Shirley
  • Grant Lawrence
  • Cole Horine
  • Carlton Horine
  • Logan Johnson
  • Eli Greene
  • Trey Thompson
  • Maddox Greene
  • Jonathan Lutabingwa
  • Levi Temple
  • Carter Everett
  • Jackson Lang

Honorable Mention

  • Will Curtis
  • Jackson Roper


  • Caroline Farthing
  • Brooke Scheffler
  • Brelyn Sturgill
  • Megan Patton
  • Kenzie Baldwin
  • Bethany Pryor
  • Sadie Sharpe

Honorable Mention

  • Faith Watson
  • Amber Chiarolanzio


  • Ethan Campbell
  • Ethan Cannon
  • Collin Anderson
  • Will Bradbury
  • Wesley Coatney
  • Roman Sibaja


  • Gwendolyn Anderson
  • Rachel Cathey
  • Brianna Anderson
  • Moriah Bollman
  • Maddie Bollman
  • Sophie Beach
  • Andriana Rink
  • Janie Soucek
  • Ella Triplett


  • Jillian Russert
  • Sienna Davidson
  • Amira Younce
  • Madison Ogden
  • Ellary Maiden

Honorable Mention

  • Katie Harrison
  • Larisa Muse


  • Matt Taubman
  • Gresham Collins
  • Zade Tincher
  • Noah Lang
  • Kai Suyao
  • Klaus Best
  • Luke Hunter
  • Ben White
  • Steele Neely

Honorable Mention

  • Noah Jamison
  • Micah Duvall


  • Bethany Critcher
  • Emma Barr
  • Lucy Hodges

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.