Ritter returns for senior year

Watauga distance runner Sophia Ritter was named Runner of the Year in the NWC.

HICKORY — The All-Northwestern Conference cross-country teams were officially announced Nov. 9.

Sophia Ritter was named the Runner of the Year. She won the conference championship. Ritter is joined Sidra Miller, Sullivan McAulay, Riley Fowler, Sophie Beach, Olivia McAnulty, Rebecca Anderson, Lena Miller, Isabelle-Broman-fulks, Kate Tuberty, Brianna Anderson and Ella Triplett were all named all-conference.

Watauga coach Randy McDonough was named Coach of the Year. Watauga won the conference meet with a perfect score of 15 points.

Alexander Central had two runners — Camella Church and Katlyn Dyson — named to the team.

In the boys’ division, Avery Cannon was named the NWC’s Boys’ Runner of the Year. Cannon followed that honor by winning the state 3-A championship race Nov. 9 in Kernersville.

Cannon was joined on the all-conference team by Rein Freeman, Caleb Coatney, Ethan Cannon, Korben Anderson, Caleb Cox, Ethan Turner, Spencer Cathey and Gavin Sweeney.

St. Stephens placed four runners on the team and both Hickory and Alexander Central placed one each. St. Stephens Jason Fullbright coach was named Coach of the Year.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.