Snyder and Clawson

Board of Elections Director Matt Snyder, right, speaks with Loretta Clawson, left, while she files for a Boone Town Council position on the first day of filing on July 5.

WATAUGA — Listings for those running in the November municipal election were made final at noon on July 19 as the two-week candidate filing period came to a close.

Each municipality will have two to three seats up for election: Boone Town Council with three seats for election, the town of Blowing Rock has two council seats and the mayoral position, the Beech Mountain Town Council has three open seats and Seven Devils Town Council also has three seats.

For information about voting in the election, visit or call the Watauga Board of Elections office at (828) 265-8061.

The final candidate listing is as follows:

Boone Town Council — three seats

  • Loretta Clawson (i)
  • Virginia Roseman
  • Nancy LaPlaca
  • Dustin Hicks

Blowing Rock Mayor — one seat

  • Charlie Sellers (i)

Blowing Rock Town Council — two seats

  • Albert Yount (i)
  • David Harwood
  • Ray Pickett
  • Jim Steele (i)

Beech Mountain Town Council — three seats

  • Renee Castiglione (i)
  • Jimmie Accardi
  • Wendel Sauer (i)
  • Kelly Melang
  • Erin Gonyea
  • Carl Marquardt (i)

Seven Devils Town Council — three seats

  • Larry Fontaine (i)
  • Wayne Bonomo
  • Kay Ehlinger (i)
  • Jeff Williams

(i) denotes incumbent

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.