Taylor receives hospitality industry scholarship

RALEIGH – The philanthropic arm of the North Carolina Restaurant & Lodging Association, the North Carolina Hospitality Education Foundation, has announced its scholarship and grant recipients for 2019. Seventeen students and one educator in the state have been selected to receive $50,500 in scholarships and grant funding.

Scholarships are distributed to students pursuing post-secondary studies in culinary arts, restaurant management or similar fields, or to students whose parents are current hospitality industry employees. Grant funding supports educators in those fields.

The 2019 scholarship recipients include Kennedy Taylor of Boone, the recipient of the Ted Fowler Pursuit of Restaurant Excellence Scholarship. She plans to attend Appalachian State University.

Scholarship and grant recipients will be honored at the 2019 Excellence in Education Awards Breakfast on June 17 at Prestonwood Country Club in Cary prior to NC HEF’s annual Future of Hospitality Golf Classic.

National search yields Ece Karatan as vice provost for research

BOONE — After a national search for Appalachian State University’s vice provost for research, Ece Karatan, who has served in the interim capacity of the role since August 2018, has been named to the permanent appointment in the university’s Division of Academic Affairs. Her new position will take effect July 1.

“Dr. Karatan has many years of research experience working with grants funded by the National Institutes of Health: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases and has served on multiple NIH review panels,” shared Darrell Kruger, provost and executive vice chancellor. “She values the importance of student participation in research and has an extensive history of collaborations with other faculty at Appalachian.”

As vice provost for research, Karatan will continue to be responsible for facilitating and expanding universitywide faculty- and student-based research/creative activities by obtaining necessary resources, developing administrative infrastructure, fostering intra-institutional and external collaborations, and building sustainable funding opportunities.

Additionally, she will oversee the work of campuswide research entities, including the units housed in Appalachian’s Office of Research: Sponsored Programs, Research Protections, Research Data Analysis, and Grants Resources and Services.

She will also chair the University Research Council; collaborate with the Special Funds Accounting unit in the Office of the Controller and other campus offices to increase the university’s research portfolio; and represent the provost and Division of Academic Affairs on university committees and at events.

UNC Board of Governors honors Appalachian’s Miller for Excellence in Teaching

BOONE — D. Jason Miller, associate professor in Appalachian State University’s Department of Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment, is the recipient of a 2019 University of North Carolina Board of Governors Excellence in Teaching Award. He will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize during Appalachian’s spring commencement ceremony.

Darrell P. Kruger, Appalachian’s provost and executive vice chancellor, remarked, “D. Jason Miller brings a high standard of teaching into his classroom through experiential learning techniques that will provide a lasting impact and transform the lives of his students.”

One faculty member from each of North Carolina’s 16 public universities and one from the North Carolina School for Science and Mathematics are granted this prestigious recognition, now in its 25th year.

The Board of Governors also selected six other Appalachian faculty members to receive awards during spring commencement. The instructors were chosen after being nominated by fellow faculty or Appalachian students, administrators or alumni for their innovative teaching methods in the classroom, making a difference in the way students learn.

Holly Hirst, professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, is the recipient of the Appalachian State University Excellence in Teaching Award with a $1,500 prize. The winners of the Appalachian State University School/College Awards, worth $1,000 each, are: Peter Nelsen, associate professor in the Department of Leadership and Educational Studies; Alecia Jackson, professor in the Department of Leadership and Educational Studies; Lillian Nave, senior lecturer in the First Year Seminar program, a division of University College; Ken Brackney, professor in the Department of Accounting; and Timothy Smith, professor in the Department of Anthropology.

Two interim chairs named in Appalachian’s College of Arts and Sciences

BOONE — Starting July 1, Martial K. Frindéthié and Thomas B. Ellis will begin interim chair positions in their respective departments in Appalachian State University’s College of Arts and Sciences.

Frindéthié will serve as chair for the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures for the 2019–20 academic year, and Ellis will chair the Department of Philosophy and Religion for the fall 2019 semester.

Send announcements of achievements, milestones and other life news to editor@wataugademocrat.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.