Charles Haynes, Michael Behrent

Assistant Watauga County Clerk of Court Charles Haynes swears in Michael Behrent as chairman of the Watauga County Board of Elections.

BOONE — A new chair was appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper and sworn onto the Watauga County Board of Elections on Oct. 8 after the resignation of Jane Ann Hodges.

Michael Behrent — a Democrat — is replacing Hodges, who recently resigned due to health concerns. Hodges joined the board on March 29, 2018, and has served as the chair since that time, according to Matthew Snyder, director of the Watauga County Board of Elections.

Snyder said the Watauga County Board of Elections office welcomes Behrent and appreciates his service to Watauga voters during this “unusual time.” Behrent is an associate professor in the History Department at Appalachian State University, and serves as the university’s Faculty Senate chair.

“We also want to thank Jane Ann Hodges for her years of dedicated service to the citizens of Watauga County as director and as board chair. She will be missed,” Snyder said.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.