Watauga County seal

BOONE — In recognition of the first announced presumptive positive case of COVID-19 (novel coronavirus), Watauga County and the towns of Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock, Boone and Seven Devils have declared a state of emergency, which applies to all areas within the jurisdiction of Watauga County.

On March 10, the governor of North Carolina declared a state of emergency.

“The purpose for declaring the state of emergency is to ease the financial and resource restrictions in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes," stated Deron Geouque, Watauga County manager. "AppHealthCare is serving as the lead agency in the management of this crisis, and we are confident in public health’s ability to lead this effort and appreciate their partnership with Watauga County and other local agencies to protect our community’s health."

“Also, we appreciate the continued coordination and communication with the municipalities, Appalachian Regional Hospital System, Watauga County Schools and Appalachian State University as we coordinate with AppHealthCare to respond to COVID-19,” stated Geouque.

Blowing Rock Town Manager Shane Fox echoed Geouque by expressing thanks for the collaboration of the county and the municipalities. 

For information on COVID-19, visit www.AppHealthCare.com or follow AppHealthCare on Facebook and Twitter.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.