WEST JEFFERSON — SkyLine Membership Corporations is awarding $25,000 this year in renewable college scholarships to 10 area high school graduates through the Frank James-SkyLine Scholarship program.

In memory of the cooperative’s longtime director and former SkyLine President Frank James, this scholarship is presented each year to benefit the children of SkyLine/SkyBest customers who reside in its five-county service area. The scholarships are renewable for up to two years for students pursuing a community/technical college degree or vocational program.

Watauga County’s recipient is Laiken Combs, daughter of Kevin and Jessica Combs of Vilas, who will study nursing at Appalachian State University.

Alleghany County recipients are Austin Douglas, son of Derick and Angie Douglas of Piney Creek, who will attend the N.C. State University to study zoology; Ally Hanson, daughter of Brandon Hanson of Sparta and Tara Hanson of Piney Creek, who will attend East Tennessee State University to study pre-pharmacy; and Chloe Pruitt, daughter of William and Nicole Pruitt, who will study nursing through the RIBN Program, a dual-enrollment program through Wilkes Community College and Lenoir Rhyne University.

Ashe County recipients are Savannah Wilcox, daughter of David and Katina Wilcox of Crumpler, who will attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to study chemistry; Alexis Blevins, daughter of Billy and April Blevins of Lansing, who will attend Caldwell Community College to study physical therapy with plans to continue her studies toward a post-graduate degree in this field of study; and Trenton Blevins, son of Billy and April Blevins of Lansing, who will attend Wilkes Community College and later pursue a degree in engineering at a four-year university.

Avery County’s recipients are Silas Barinowski, son of Boe and Laurie Barinowski of Banner Elk, who will attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; and Mary Johnson, daughter of Mark and Audrey Johnson of Banner Elk, who will attend Lees-McRae College and study nursing or criminal justice.

Johnson County’s recipient is Cindy Jones, daughter of Kevin and Judy Cretsinger of Shady Valley, who will study pre-physical therapy at Northeast State Community College.

Since the scholarship program was established in 1987, more than $500,000 in scholarships have been awarded.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.