Kiwanis handwriting winners

The Board of Education recognizes Kiwanis Club Handwriting Contest winners Kylie Creed, Emma Lehman and Lillon Henline from Blowing Rock and Sarah Miller, Juna Gersonde, Gigi Waugh and Gracyn Phelps from Hardin Park. Not pictured were Jonah Milsaps from Bethel and Iris Westerman and Hoge E. Bailey from Blowing Rock. The Award was Presented by Larry Woodrow and Eric Brown from the Kiwanis Club.

BOONE — The Boone Kiwanis Club chose 10 Watauga County Schools students as the winners of its handwriting contest.

The students — representing Blowing Rock, Bethel and Hardin Park schools —were presented with certificates during the Jan. 13 Watauga Board of Education meeting and were to receive checks for being selected as the winners. Tamara Stamey said the club approached WCS a few years ago about hosting a competition to highlight the importance of handwriting both in manuscript and cursive form.

Larry Woodrow and Eric Brown were in attendance from the Kiwanis Club. Woodrow said that he was sure everyone in the room could give at least 10 reasons as to why handwriting is important and necessary. He added that the Kiwanis Club appreciated the students’ dedication to handwriting.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.